## AN APPEAL OF THE CIVIL SOCIETY

regarding the attempts to use the police for a political party purposes

Warsaw, 2nd August 2018

## APPEAL

We remember the gloomy days of the communist Polish People's Republic (PRL) era, with its repression apparatus including the Citizens' Militia (MO) and the Motorised Reserves of the Citizens' Militia (ZOMO). The fall of that dictatorship and replacing it with a democratic system governed by the rule of law was a landmark historical event for a vast majority of the Polish people. It involved the establishment of a professional, politically neutral police force. Therefore, to protect the rule of law and democracy in Poland, we appeal to the police officers, especially to their commanders, to remember that the police is not a property of one single political party. Moreover, that police officers, similarly to other citizens, are obliged to comply with the Constitution and with the laws which are in accordance with the Constitution.

We paid great attention to the statement of Rafał Jankowski, the President of the General Board of the Police Trade Union, regarding the use of the police in order to gain interim political advantage, the political neutrality of the police and the inadmissibility of involving the police in the political rhetoric.

We are convinced that most of the police officers would not wish for a return to the times of the Citizens' Militia. We turn to that vast majority with an appeal: we, defenders of the rule of law and of democracy, are at the same time defenders of a professional, politically neutral police.

Meanwhile, we believe that unlawful actions of some police officers towards demonstrating citizens must be explained. It is necessary for the existence of the rule of law.

We understand and share the motivation of the people protesting on the streets, therefore, we appeal that they do not provide excuses to those few police officers who are ready to respond with aggression and violate civil rights.

## SIGNATORIES

Lech	Wałęsa	President of Poland (1990–1995)
Aleksander	Kwaśniewski	President of Poland (1995–2005)
Bronisław	Komorowski	President of Poland (2010–2015)
Leszek	Balcerowicz	Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance (1989–1991, 1997–2000), President of the National Bank of Poland (2001–2007)
Bogdan	Borusewicz	member of the anti-communist opposition before 1989, Speaker of the Senat (2005–2015)
Jerzy	Buzek	Prime Minister (1997–2001), President of the European Parliament (2009– 2012)
Włodzimierz	Cimoszewicz	lawyer, Speaker of the Sejm (2005), Prime Minister (1996–1997), Minister of Justice (1993–1995)
Zbigniew	Ćwiąkalski	lawyer, Minister of Justice (2007–2009)
Władysław	Frasyniuk	member of the anti-communist opposition before 1989, member of the Sejm (1991–2001)
Janusz	Gajos	actor
Zbigniew	Janas	member of the anti-communist opposition before 1989, member of the Sejm (1989–2001)

## AN APPEAL OF THE CIVIL SOCIETY

regarding the attempts to use the police for a political party purposes

Krystyna	Janda	actress
Ryszard	Kalisz	lawyer, head of the the Chancellery of the President (1998–2000), Minister of Internal Affairs (2004–2005)
Paweł	Kasprzak	Obywatele RP
Krzysztof	Król	member of the anti-communist opposition before 1989, member of the Sejm (1991–1997)
Bogdan	Lis	member of the anti-communist opposition before 1989, member of the Senat (1989–1991)
Jan	Lityński	member of the anti-communist opposition before 1989, advisor to the President of Poland (2010–2015)
Katarzyna	Lubnauer	Leader of Nowoczesna political party, member of Sejm
Ewa	Łętowska	lawyer, Human Rights Commissioner – Ombudsman (1987–1992)
Krzysztof	Łoziński	leader of the Committee for Defence of Democracy (KOD)
Olgierd	Łukaszewicz	actor, founder of Wojciech B. Jastrzębowski Foundation
Kazimierz	Marcinkiewicz	Prime Minister (2005–2006)
Marcin	Matczak	lawyer, University of Warsaw
Jerzy	Miller	Minister of Internal Affairs (2009–2011)
Barbara	Nowacka	Leader of Inicjatywa Polska
Andrzej	Olechowski	Minister of Foreign Affairs (1993–1995), Minister of Finance (1992)
Józef	Pinior	lawyer, member of the anti-communist opposition before 1989, member of the Senat (2011–2015)
Monika	Płatek	lawyer, University of Warsaw
Danuta	Przywara	President of the Helsinki Foundation for Human Rights
Andrzej	Rzepliński	lawyer, University of Warsaw, President of the Constitutional Court (2010– 2016)
Wojciech	Sadurski	lawyer, University of Sydney and University of Warsaw
Marek	Safjan	lawyer, judge of the Court of Justice of the EU, President of the Constitutional Court (1998–2006)
Grzegorz	Schetyna	Leader of Platforma Obywatelska political party, Speaker of the Sejm (2010– 2011), Minister of Internal Affairs (2007–2009)
Andrzej	Seweryn	actor
Radosław	Sikorski	Speaker of the Sejm (2014–2015), Minister of Foreign Affairs (2007–2014), Minister of National Defence (2005–2007)
Jerzy	Stępień	lawyer, Vice-rector Łazarski University, President of the Constitutional Court (2006–2008)
Adam	Strzembosz	lawyer, the First President of the Supreme Court and Chairman of State Tribunal (1990–1998)
Maciej	Stuhr	actor
Jan	Widacki	lawyer, Deputy Minister of Internal Affairs (1990–1992)
Henryk	Wujec	member of the anti-communist opposition before 1989, advisor to the President RP (2010–2015)

We encourage you to sign the Appeal via https://apel-obywatelski.pl/en

www.apel-obywatelski.pl/en